Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

National Center for Ethics in Health Care


Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge

William A. Nelson Award for Excellence in Health Care Ethics

 Dr. David Sine Wins 2017 Nelson Award

Dr. John Billig and Patrick Kelly
Dr. David Sine

David Sine, DrBE, MA, CSP, ARM, CPHRM, is the recipient of the 2017 William A. Nelson Award for Excellence in Health Care Ethics from VA National Center for Ethics in Health Care (NCEHC).

Since 2008, Dr. Sine has served as Chief Risk Officer (CRO) in the Office of Quality, Safety, and Value at VA National Center for Patient Safety in Ann Arbor, Michigan. He is recognized nationally as a consultant, scholar, and leader in patient safety and quality.

As CRO, Dr. Sine designed, staffed, and operationalized a national product recall systems office to address product safety, device failure reporting, and supply chain ethics issues in the VA health care system. By enabling VA to identify an unsafe device and remove it from operations within 24 hours, this system has prevented harm to countless Veterans and the staff who care for them.

Dr. Sine was a pioneer in proposing that the architectural design of inpatient behavioral health units is a question not only of design but ethics. He is co-author of Design Guide for the Built Environment of Behavioral Health Facilities, published by the National Association of Psychiatric Health Systems and the Facility Guidelines Institute. He continues to teach and publish extensively on ethics, patient safety and quality. 

Dr. Sine earned a bachelor’s degree in design from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago while studying at the University of Chicago, a master’s degree in Health Policy, and a Doctorate in Biomedical Ethics from the Stritch School of Medicine at Loyola University. Additionally, he served as a member of the board and chair of the ethics committee of the American Society for Healthcare Risk Management (ASHRM) and serves on various committees of The Joint Commission.

Past Nelson Award Recipients

2016 - John P. Billig, PhD, ABPP

2015 - Molly Osborne, MD, PhD

2014 - Cynthia Geppert, MD, MA, MPH, MSBE, DPS 

2013 - Jefferson Rogers, PsyD

2012 - Michael M. Lawson

2011 - Ware Kuschner, MD

2010 - Melissa West, MD

2009 - Sharon Douglas, MD

2008 - Lowell Kronick, MHL, BCC

2007 - Jessica Steckler, MS, RN-BC

2006 - Susan Bowers, MBA

2005 - David Cassarett, MD